Letter to my Father – Franz Kafka

Whenever I hear people recommending a writer or when I simply find articles on the Internet about him/her, I almost instantly feel the need to buy at least one of his/her books. I can’t help it, I’m curios and I enjoy reading.

I don’t know when I heard of Franz Kafka, a German short-story writer and novelist, who was born in 1883, on the 3rd of July, and who died in 1924, on the 3rd of June, for the first time. There is no secret he was one of the greatest writers the 20th century has had and for that reason it was necessary for me to read his masterpieces. While googling his books and finding a lot of titles that have gained my attention, I finally decided on Letters to Felice and Letter to my Father. Regrettably, I could only find Letter to my Father, but even so I was really excited about it. The masterpiece lifted to my expectations, and that’s why I read it in two days. To be honest, it’s a short one, but I didn’t have too much time. The letter is obviously addressed to Kafka’s father, a man who has always made his son feel small. Exposing concisely what he felt and what had him upset, without blaming it all exclusively on his father, Franz is offering us a compelling overview of the atmosphere from his family. As was anticipated, the writer focuses on his relationship with the ,,head of the family” and on his behavior towards him. He is aware of all the aspects worth considering which could be blamed for this dysfunctional relationship so, among all the emotions, an impeccable analysis stands out. There’s no point in hiding that I feel dissapointed that the letter never made it to its recipient. Kafka offered it to his mother, but the woman decided it would be better not give it to his father, so he never found out what was going through his son’s mind. I loved how well his feelings and opinions were explained, making everything so clear. Maybe Mr. Kafka would have loved it too.

I can assure you, Kafka’s unique style will conquer your hearts. If Letter to my Father is not on your list, then I suggest you to do something about it. But, if you’ve already tasted from this great work, I’d love to know what’s your opinion about Franz Kafka’s father. 

One thought on “Letter to my Father – Franz Kafka

Leave a Reply

