Favorite villains, part 1 – Joker

joker_1Among the movies I grew up with, we include the DC ones, and the protagonist of this article will be The Dark Knight. Though a huge fan of Batman, I was given the chance to enjoy all the three movies composing this spectacular series one year ago because, as a child, I had no idea about Batman Begins and when The Dark Knight Rises was released I was already being swallowed by Marvel. I know, I betrayed DC and I’m a terrible fan, you can imagine how I felt last year, when everyone was raving about Suicide Squad (which ended up dissapointing us all), and I suddenly remembered Batman. Anyway, let’s get started with the reason why Joker is one of my favorite villains ever.

I gotta admit, I’m not really into DC Comics, so Joker was first introduced to me through The Dark Knight movie. Despite of being quite scared by people like him back then, I found this villain fascinating. And during all these years, my admiration for him just kept growing. Now, perhaps someone who was abused and has mental issues, requiring treatment (if anything could work right now on him, I think we all know Joker is probably never going to change) can’t make you like him. But here’s why he stole my attention. First, he always has a point. Even in his reckless behavior you can sense logic. Just pay attention to his words and the way he confesses short stories regarding his past. He cleary hates people, especially the ones pretending to be heroes and men of honor, who never disobey the rules. The reason: many of them don’t know how harsh life can get or they are just pretending to be good. Besides, where’s the fun? Why so serious? His famous quotes shall not be neglected either because they all hide truths: Smile, because it confuses people. Because it’s easier than explaining what is killing you inside./ People don’t want to hear the truth because they don’t want their illusions destroyed. Joker gets it. And I doubt it’s only because of his disorder, witzelsucht. He might be hella instable, but I dare to believe there’s some sanity left in there. Just a bit. Secondly, I think his moves and gestures are unique. Also, the way he handles certain situations. I find his case really worth studying.

I can’t finish this article without mentioning Heath Ledger, the man who, in my opinion, turned the iconic character into a legend. RIP, master!

<Witzelsucht – a set of not so common neurological symptoms, in which the one affected tends to tell jokes in inappropriate situations, or even stories. It is usually caused by frontal lobe damage that can have serious effects on the personality of the victim.>>

 

Author:

a lil twisted; i'm looking for what's beyond things

Leave a Reply

